Snap Series: HOMETOWN HOVERING

san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (1)

I jested to my father about going back home for a long weekend since my school is having its intramurals week. It was just a normal Messenger chat and then he asked about how much the ticket is. I responded. Then he said, “Okay.”

That 5-day vacay was just very brief filled with nocturnal habits, noon waking ups, afternoon cycling, and a whole lot of seafood. Coincidentally, it was also the celebration of the feast of Saint Augustine, our patron. So the vacation paid off being as colorful and stomach-filling as any town fiesta across the Philippines.

Four years ago, I would wake up every morning looking forward to the once-a-year event that brings so much celebration and festivity to the town. Local celebrities, pageants, cultural shows, basketball leagues and the like would be lined up days before the feast day itself. Every waking day is a step closer to the big day itself.

Last 25th of August, my first morning from that getaway, I didn’t feel like I did a couple of years ago. No dance practice to do and no program participation to attend to. It felt so normal that it left me unsettled. I was only excited to being with my family and the food.

“You’re getting old.”

That’s what I heard from my mother.

Oh well. I guess she’s right.

8/30/16

san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (2)

san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (3)
an aged tree at the elementary school
san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (4)
our local church decorated with the traditional banderitas
san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (5)
peddlers occupying the streets
san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (6)
a cock farm across our house
san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (7)
swing from the carnival
san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (8)
random guy just hovering atop the town
san agustin surigao del sur cebu photo blog withkerr (9)
accessories from a peddler

xx Kerr

One thought on “Snap Series: HOMETOWN HOVERING

  1. I grew up in a barrio in Bulacan and I’ve always look forward to the annual festivities. It’s something that I always miss since I left for the city. Your photos show how simple and peaceful life is in the province. Btw, you didn’t tell us where is this! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

