Faux Pas & Whatnots

french men fashion - cebu men male fashion blogger kerr quevedo (2)

Ever heard of “Fake it ‘til you make it”? Yeah. It’s probably one of the biggest clichés in the world. I’ve heard this here and there so many times more than I can count but as clichés come, they always tend to be true on so many occasions.

In my expedition on doing things that I want to achieve, I have to admit that I wasn’t really prepared for everything that I have encountered along the course. There are times that prior to attending an event or joining a competition, I still have to browse for so many inquiries about things I am yet to understand and apply those pieces of information I just crammed. Some paid off and some did not live up to end their means.

In social events, it could be my youth playing with me and embarrassing myself while stumbling on faux pas and whatnots that have happened. I guess as much as I wanted to blend in and act as expected, the naivety of my age just doesn’t want to leave the scene. So many things were very new to me – it took me lots of guts just to say “Hello” as if each word I utter properly is a Spartan victory.

After countless instances of socializing though, I have grown to realize that I wasn’t faking it anymore – I became the persona that I hoped for. The keyword is not ‘faking’ anymore; it’s more like ‘learning’. It’s like because I kept on doing something that I didn’t know how to do, that skill got harnessed and transformed into something that I actually feel confident of doing. What seemed unnatural now seems uhm, natural.

french men fashion - cebu men male fashion blogger kerr quevedo (4)french men fashion - cebu men male fashion blogger kerr quevedo (3)

I could still remember stepping into my very first event as a blogger not knowing what to do and who to talk to. I kept on overthinking things but somehow I managed to give a straight smiling face and consistent nods to whoever I have eye-contact with. I still overthink now and man do I feel awkward with eye contacts but everything feels less tense. I just learned to be much more confident in my skin [regardless of how zitty I am].

It’s probably one of the best outtakes that I could garner from engaging in social events – I’ve learned things that I didn’t know I had in me; I discovered a part of myself I didn’t know ever existed. So all those faux pas and whatnots actually had its perks – talk about being a diamond in the rough.

french men fashion - cebu men male fashion blogger kerr quevedo (1)french men fashion - cebu men male fashion blogger kerr quevedo (6)french men fashion - cebu men male fashion blogger kerr quevedo (5)

How is this related to my style post? I was just thinking of having a French phrase on the title to match the faux Eiffel Tower at the Parisian Macao. HAHA More posts still brewing, stay tuned!

Outfit details: Pique shirt from Bench; Shorts from Original Penguin; Belt from Metro Stores; Watch from Nautica; Shoes from Sperry Top-sider; Nail bracelet from Cartier; Wooden bed bracelet from H&M; Specs from Oakley

xx Kerr

Photos by Krizza Quevedo
Leave a Reply

